top of page

Origin of Yoga - [ s1:s2 ]

Updated: 2 days ago

There are four "Vedic" Samhitas: the Rig-Veda, Yajur-Veda, Sama-Veda and Atharva-Veda. The Samhitas are sometimes identified as Karmakanda (action/ritual-related section), alsoreferred to as Purva Mimamsa (Prior Study). While the Vedanta deals with the later portion of Vedic literature called the Upanishads, identified as Jnanakan da (knowledge or spirituality-related section) also referred to as Uttara Mimamsa (Posterior Study). The Aranyakas and Brahmanas are some times classified as the ceremonial Karmakanda, and also at times as Jnanakanda.

origin of yoga

Prasthanathrayi, includes the Upanishads, the Bhagwad Gita and Brahmasutras, which are the main texts of the Vedanta School. Upanishads constitute the Sruti Prasthana –starting point of ‘heard’ scriptures, the Bhagwad Gita constitutes the Smriti Prasthana – starting point of ‘remembered’ scrip tures and the Brahmasutras define the base of whole existence in yoga.

Origin of Yoga - To be continued...

12 views0 comments


bottom of page